We have a handy feature that allows you to delete old messages from your email account, which will free up storage space.
Firstly, login to your email account via webmail.
Once you have logged-in, go to the drop-down menu on the top-right of the screen, and click on “Manage Disk Usage”:
Next, you’ll see the disk usage of each of your folders.
Click “Manage” on your chosen folder, then you have the option to delete messages more than one year old:
By selecting “Custom query” from the drop-down menu, you can also specify your own deletion criteria, if required. For example:
- savedbefore 26weeks = delete messages over 6 months old
- larger 5M = delete messages over 5MB in size
Warning: If you choose to delete your messages, please take extreme caution, as this process is irreversible.
For good practice, we suggest you routinely archive your emails onto a computer, using your chosen mail software. Specialist email archiving programs are also available, e.g. MailStore Home. This means you’ll have your own offline backup of all your messages.